Foundation Stage

The Foundation Stage is in a separate building from the rest of the primary school. The facilities include a large indoor play area, Early Years library, separate activity room, two secure outdoor areas and three shaded splash pools. Each classroom opens out into the central activity area and has direct access to one of the outdoor learning environments.
The curriculum is based around half-termly topics that link learning across the seven areas and provide a range of indoor and outdoor learning experiences.

In the Foundation Stage we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework, which is divided into the following seven areas of learning:-

Prime Areas:

• Communication and Language
• Personal, Social and Emotional Development
• Physical Development

These three prime areas are crucial for children’s future learning and development. As they grow, their development in the Prime Areas is supported through the following four Specific Areas:

• Literacy
• Mathematics
• Understanding the World
• Expressive Arts and Design

In the Early Years Foundation Stage, children learn through planned, purposeful play activities, ensuring a balance between child initiated and adult led activities.